The School of Science (SOS) is the new school in the Faculty of Science and Technology (FST). The School is established to serve the training and education needs of Solomon Islands in the pure sciences and science related sectors. It offers quality bachelor programs in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Computer Science and will offer programs in the other science related field of studies such as environmental science and marine science.  The School also teaches sciences and mathematics education for the bachelor of teaching secondary and primary education for the Faculty of Education and Humanities (FEH) and teaches computer units for the bachelor of accounting and diploma of finance and business administration for the Faculty of Business and Tourism. The School of Science will also conduct researches in the sciences to support the teaching and learning of science in Solomon Islands and create knowledge of science in order to develop the understanding of science in our everyday life. The school offers bachelor courses/programs in biology, physics, chemistry, mathematics and computer sciences.

The School of Science comprises of five departments  at Panatina campus, east Honiara.


  1. Department  of Biology
  2. Department of Physics
  3. Department of Chemistry
  4. Department of Mathematics
  5. Department of Computer Science


Head of School


Dr. Surendra Prasad