The Faculty of Education and Humanities (FEH), the largest faculty at Solomon Islands National University in terms of student and staff numbers, comprises two schools: The School of Education and the School of Humanities.

The School of Humanities comprises of six departments at Panatina campus, east Honiara.


  1. Department of History
  2. Department of Social Sciences
  3. Department of Language & Communications
  4. Department of Library & Information Systems
  5. Department of Geography
  6. Department of Sports & Creative Arts
  7. Department of Media & Journalism

Please click on a Department to read more about it.

The School has a total of sixteen (16) well-qualified and dedicated academics who teach a diversity of units which range in subject-matter from Religious Studies, Linguistics, Early Childhood Education, History, Journalism, Literacy and Communications to Sports and Creative Arts.

Although large, the School of Humanities does not have separate programmes from the School of Education. Instead, the academic staff contributes equally in teaching toward the Bachelor of Teaching, Diploma and Certificates in the faculty. The structure is excellent as it means students will graduate with a well-rounded interdisciplinary education firmly anchored in Education and the Humanities which prepares them well for the job-market whether in teaching, government, or administration.

The Faculty of Education and Humanities is located at the Panatina Campus, high on a ridge that provides not only a panoramic beautiful view of the Point Cruz Harbour but also a peaceful atmosphere conducive for learning. Within the peaceful atmosphere students and staff can intermingle, learning from each other not only about school subjects but, equally important, their respective cultures as well.

Head of School


Rev. Dr. Ben Wate

Head of School, School of Humanities