School of Education Programmes


Teacher Education Qualifications

Teacher Education programmes and structures of SOE have changed over the years. Both the structure of the qualifications and the content of the units/courses have been radically changed, improved, and updated. This means that the quality of teacher education at the SOE, SINU has been significantly raised and is now comparable with the best practice teacher education elsewhere in the world.

Currently, SOE is offering seven teacher education programmes and a postgraduate programmes for school leaders and administrators. The programmes are:

Teaching Subjects

A student wishing to become a secondary teacher and applying to do either Diploma/Bachelor of Teaching Secondary will need to choose teaching subjects 1 and 2 from the following subjects:

Subjects offered by the School of Humanities

  • English
  • Social Science
  • Geography
  • History
  • Physical Education
  • Health Studies
  • Music and Creative Arts

Subjects offered by the School of Education – TVET Department

Subjects offered by the other Faculties

  1. School of Sciences
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Computer Science
    • Mathematics
    • Physics
  2. Faculty of Business and Tourism
    • Accounting
    • Economics
  3. Department of Agriculture (see FAFF)
    • Agriculture

StudentsΒ must enquire at each Faculty, School and Department for units offered each semester.

In-service students

A student coming in as an in-service student will be entering his or her programme as a second-year student but may be asked to do some year 1 units depending on his or her prior learning and qualification. See Head of Department (Primary or ECE or Secondary departments) for further information.